Holland in Haymarket

SONY DSC

I got word from fellow photographer Andy Kitchen about this annual event (at Burnside Farms in Haymarket, VA) while out shooting cherry blossoms in the freezing crack-of-dawn light. I was expecting something a little bigger, but I was not disappointed. As I believe I have clearly stated, I love to photograph flowers. Now that spring has finally arrived, I love the profusion of color after the drab months of late fall and winter.

Most of the tulips appeared to be the standard what-you-think-of-when-someone-says-tulip variety, but then, as I looked closely, there were some varieties and colors I had never have seen before.

SONY DSC   SONY DSC

And, of course, you need something more than just tulips to back up your title of “Holland in Haymarket” and what more iconic than a diverse collection of wooden shoes? Adults and children alike were having a bit of fun trying them on and clomping around.

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

